Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms

My immediate thought when I first saw the recipe on Gimme Some Oven for pesto stuffed mushrooms, “Wow, a simple and healthy recipe.” There’s pesto, there’s mushrooms… what’s not to love?

When I tasted the mushrooms, my thought was “Wow, this would be so much better with cheese.” Everything needs more cheese. So the next time I prepare these, I may stuff the mushrooms with pesto and top them with a bit of mozzarella/feta/bleu cheese/etc. Or you could omit the pesto altogether and use sun-dried tomatoes and and mozzarella. This was my first time making stuffed mushrooms so it allowed me to see that the possibilities for the little fungi are endless. As I’ve said before, I like recipes one can really customize according to his or her taste, and this is one of them. I liked the pesto, but I just thought the mushrooms could use some umph.

Pesto_Stuffed_Mushroom_1

I topped them with panko bread crumbs, which was one of the topping suggestions. I did not become as crunchy as I hoped they would. I brought them to a potluck dinner and the guests seemed to enjoy them, though.

Pesto_Stuffed_Mushroom_2

I followed the recipe closely, so just head over to Gimme Some Oven to check it out. I did have some trouble scooping out the stems (which I saved and cooked later) which cracked the head of some of the mushrooms, but they managed to turn out fine. And I may have been a bit heavy-handed with the pesto, so they’re not as photogenic mushrooms as I would have liked.

Pesto_Stuffed_Mushroom_3

Leave a Reply

