Leaving well enough alone

I was craving pumpkin scones one day. I decided to add a maple spin to them, since I had success with the maple flavored biscotti. I had Amish Friendship Bread starter ready for baking at the time, so I looked once again to the Friendship Bread Kitchen for inspiration.

AFB_Maple_Pumpkin_Scones_2

The scones turned out pretty well- they had a fluffy texture and all that jazz- but did not satisfy my pumpkin scone craving, which was entirely my fault for adding maple. I think I would have preferred that these were regular pumpkin scones; the maple seemed unnecessary to them. I didn’t have pumpkin pie spice so I used 1 teaspoon of apple pie spice plus about ¼ teaspoons of both ground ginger and ground cloves, but I didn’t think that the flavor of the spices was especially pronounced because of the maple. The glaze was good, but didn’t really complement the flavor of the scones.

All this is to say they are not bad scones by any means, but the flavors I wanted to taste or expected to taste weren’t well represented. But maybe yous guys might like them and/or be able to make them better, so I figured I’d share the recipe anyway.

AFB_Maple_Pumpkin_Scones_1

Amish Friendship Bread Maple Pumpkin Scones adapted from Friendship Bread Kitchen

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ cup butter, cold and sliced into 8 pieces
  • 1 cup Amish Friendship Bread Starter
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ½ teaspoon imitation maple flavor
  • ½ cup canned pumpkin

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and salt. Using your hands or a pastry blender, press butter into the flour mixture until rough crumbs are formed. Create a well in center of dry mixture and set aside. In a medium bowl, mix friendship bread starter, egg, maple flavor, and pumpkin. Dump the contents of the medium bowl into the bowl with the dry ingredients. Stir mixture with a fork until just mixed.

Place dough on a lightly floured surface and form into a rectangle, about 4 inches by 12 inches. Cut dough into equally sized quarters, then slice the quarters diagonally to form 8 wedges. I wanted smaller scones so I cut those wedges in half to get 16 wedges. Space wedges about one inch apart on the baking sheet. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until golden. Allow scones to cool.

Maple Glaze

I used my maple glaze recipe plus a few shakes of apple pie spice. Spread on top of the scones.

AFB_Maple_Pumpkin_Scones_3

Leave a Reply

