Betty Crocker knows…

When I was a kid, I was obsessed with my mom’s Pillsbury cookbook. I became acquainted with cookies and cream cake through it, which was my standard cake to bake for birthdays and pretty much any other occasion for years. It’s pretty simple and quite delicious- just add crushed Oreos (or your favorite “creme-filled chocolate sandwich cookies”) to white cake mix and voila! The outcome is a pretty tasty cake.

I follow the Iced Gems bakery/food truck on twitter and a few months ago they tweeted a picture of Oreo whoopie bites, which made me salivate. I didn’t get around to trying them, so I decided to make something similar for myself. If cookies and cream cake is delicious, why wouldn’t cookies and cream whoopie pies be delicious, too?

Meanwhile, I was oggling these chocolate biscoff whoopie pies and I liked their shape, so I modified the whoopie pie recipe I used last time to get a different shape and texture, which was a bit less flat. I’m sure I will constantly be tweaking this, and eventually I will try to make a base from scratch. I’m kind of a perfectionist when it comes to baking, so rather than using a recipe I’m not as familiar with, I’ll just use cake mix to not drive myself crazy. I say this because I had a series of baking disasters prior to baking these, and I wanted a Rachel-proof, guaranteed successful recipe.

I baked the whoopies a few minutes longer than last time to make them a bit crispier. And I did not heed the warning from the whoopie pie recipe on Pancakes and Postcards about the pies sticking to each other, so try to avoid stacking them on top of one another. I mean, they’ll still taste amazing, but they may have gaping holes.

I brought these to a friend’s birthday dinner and the whoopie pies were a real crowd pleaser, much like the cookies and cream cake at past events. I wish I would have made more because one person had three! But I can hardly take credit for how amazing they taste, since Betty and Nabisco do all the hard work.

Cookies and Cream Whoopie Pies (adapted from Pillsbury and Pancakes and Postcards)

  • 1 box white cake mix (I used Betty Crocker)
  • 2 egg whites, room temperature
  • ½ cup buttermilk*, room temperature
  • ⅓ cup vegetable oil
  • about 2 cups of crushed Oreos** (I used nearly a entire standard package of cookies)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper. In a medium or large bowl, combine cake mix, egg whites, buttermilk, and oil using hand held mixer. Mix until batter is as smooth and even as you can get it- there will be some small lumps. Then, stir in 1 heaping cup of crushed Oreos, setting aside the rest for garnish.

Using a tablespoon or 1-inch cookie scoop, place evenly spaced dollops of batter on prepared cookie sheets.  Make sure you leave at least 2 inches between the batter because they tend to spread and run together. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until pie halves are just golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean after insertion.

Remove the pie halves from cookie sheets and let cool completely on wire racks.

*I make my own buttermilk: I poured skim milk into a ½ cup measuring cup with, leaving about an ⅛ of an inch at the top, then fill the rest with vinegar.

**I use my little food processor/chopper to quickly chop the cookies. Prior to owning that appliance, I put the cookies in a plastic bag and banged on it with a crab mallot or the back of a butter knife. I’ve also used a small mortar and pestle when I was feeling fancy. There are many options, so do whatever floats your boat to crush the Oreos!

Whoopie Pie Filling (slightly tweaked from my funfetti whoopie pies post, based on a recipe from Please Pass the Pie)

  • 1 cup marshmallow creme (I used Jet Puffed since Fluff is harder to find near me)
  • ¾ cup butter, room temperature
  • 4 oz. of cream cheese, softened (I used reduced fat)
  • ½ tablespoon vanilla extract
  • Confectioners Sugar

Using a hand or stand mixer, blend marshmallow creme, butter, and cream cheese until smooth. Add vanilla extract to the filling mix. Next, add confectioners sugar to taste; I started with about ½ cup confectioners sugar and then added more until it was the fluffy consistency that I desired. I probably added 1 ½ cups to the mix.

Match and pair pie halves that are close in size. Spread a hefty tablespoon of filling on the underside of the pie half, sprinkle some leftover crushed Oreos on top of the filling, then press the pie counterpart on top. For me, the recipe yielded around 15-17 whoopie pies.

Runny filling is runny.

An aside: I found my filling to be a tad too runny this time, so I cut the vanilla down a bit in the recipe I posted here. In the future, I’ll probably use a full fat cream cheese as well to prevent runniness. I put the whoopie pies in the refrigerator in order for them to set.

Cookies and cream whoopie pie with mint filling.

Another aside: You can also replace the vanilla extract in the filling with peppermint extract, which I did with a small batch of the filling. It was quite delicious. This was inspired by recently sampling mint Newman-O’s at the market. (I’m trying to use up some food coloring I have, so please excuse the super neon green color of the filling; it also helped me tell the mint apart from the others).

Leave a Reply

