When life gives you stale bread…

Make bread pudding!

My mother bakes bread, but often we don’t eat it quickly enough. So when I saw this leftover hunk of dry rye bread I thought I might be able to do something with it.

Most bread puddings are very rich and fatty. I’m all about substitutions in order to make food a bit more heart health-friendly, so I knew I could make this less rich but still tasty. I used vegetable broth in my recipe, which was a suggestion I found on Log House Plants. I was pleased with the outcome. Next time I’d like to make a sweet rye bread pudding with seasonal ingredients. Or maybe add to this recipe- I was thinking smoked salmon would be awesome. Log House Plants suggested sausage in rye bread pudding, which also sounds amazing.

If you don’t like mustard, this probably isn’t the recipe for you. Even though I adjusted the recipe for the amount of bread I had, I didn’t cut back on the mustard and it’s the dominant flavor in the bread pudding. I love it. The original recipe called for dijon mustard, but I only had plain old TJ’s mustard on hand. I found some tasty sounding mustards on the Williams Sonoma website that might be worth trying in the future. As with most recipes I like, this really can be adapted to your taste.

Savory Rye Bread Pudding adapted from Ann Arbor

  • 4 cups 2″ chunks of dried rye bread
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup half-and-half*
  • ⅔ cup low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 tablespoon of mustard
  • dash of sea salt
  • ¼ teaspoon of black pepper
  • ⅔ cup + 2 tablespoons shredded Italian cheese mix (I used a provolone & mozzarella combo), divided

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease an 8″ glass baking dish with cooking spray. Put the bread chunks into a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, half-and-half, broth, mustard, salt and pepper; pour egg mixture onto the bread and stir. Let mix soak for 10-12 minutes- I let mine soak for about 15 minutes to ensure absorption but the bread started to crumble a bit. Lightly press down on the chunks of bread every so often that bread is fully soaked in egg mixture.

Add ⅔ cup of cheese and stir. Pour bread pudding mix into prepared baking dish. Top mix with remaining cheese and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until the pudding is golden brown. Insert a knife into the center of the pudding to check its doneness; it should come out clean.

* In lieu of half-and-half, I substituted 3 ½ tablespoons melted butter + enough 2% milk to equal 1 cup.

2 thoughts on “When life gives you stale bread…

  1. Whoa! I’ve never had a savory bread pudding before. Feel like a geek saying this, but my mind is kinda blown. This is up there with savory oatmeal. Might have to ponder this one.

    • The only reason the savory bread pudding makes sense to me because the original recipe reminded me of a breakfast casserole I made before. Funny you should mention savory oatmeal- I just made some the other day and I was pretty surprised by how good it was.

Leave a Reply

