Crockpot Adventures

Although I often find crockpot recipes that I want to try, I tend to forget about them since I don’t use a slow cooker regularly. But this recipe for crockpot dulce de leche has been on my mind for a while. Because it was so hassle-free (and virtually Rachel-proof), I had to try it. Who ever thought of boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk? I mean, this is science right? Yeah, science!

It’s delicious, though it doesn’t taste quite how I expected it. It sort of tastes like traditional caramel but less buttery, but still very, very sweet.

I originally made the dulce de leche to use in Banoffee (which I’ve yet to make), though in the mean time I’ve found other uses for one of the cans:

  • Adding it to coffee
  • Adding it to chai tea (other black teas probably work too)
  • Dipping apple slices and other fruit into it
  • Drizzling it over baked goods
  • Eating a spoonful here and there

And I used fat-free condensed milk, so it can’t be that bad for you, right?.

Crockpot Dulce de Leche, from Beantown Baker (by way of Cupcake Project & A Year of Slowcooking)

  • 2 cans sweetened condensed milk
  • water

Take labels off of the cans and set cans in the crockpot. Fill crockpot almost to the top with water; cover. Put crockpot on low setting and cook cans for 8 to 9 hours. Allow cans to cool in the crockpot for 2 to 3 hours. Carefully remove cans from the crockpot and let them cool to the touch; I let mine cool overnight. Open and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Adventures

  1. Sounds yummy. I have a few questions: What size crockpot did you use? Did you have to do anything else to the cans of milk besides remove the label (like maybe poke holes in it)?

Leave a Reply

