A trip to the local donuttery

So I was looking at my Foursquare to-do list and realized I’ve been making very little progress (i.e., none) in getting to some bakeries, coffee shops, et cetera around town. I have some time off before I go back to work and figured I should hit up some places soon. Many of the bakeries I’ve been wanting to visit aren’t open that long after work hours or are so out of the way I probably couldn’t stop on the way to work.

I decided to start with a place not to far from me. I nearly drove past this place that’s been high on my to-do list for ages- Fractured Prune! I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention that Fenwick Bakery, just a few blocks south of Fractured Prune on Harford Road, holds a place in my heart for the best donuts anywhere, not just Baltimore. However, I wanted to give Fractured Prune a chance. Let the Battle of Harford Road begin! Fractured Prune is a cute, unassuming place on Harford Road in Parkville (I did almost pass it), just south of Putty Hill Avenue. In my haste to eat all the donuts, I didn’t take any pictures of the building, so I borrowed a picture from Yelp. It still looks like this:

Taken by Yelper Justin C.

If you’re not familiar with Fractured Prune (henceforth referred to as FP), the staff fries and glazes fresh donuts in front of you. There are specialty flavors on the menu to choose from and you can also create your own from a variety of glazes and toppings.

Let me just say, oh. My. Goodness. Not much beats a freshly fried donut. They were still warm when I got home! Also, the texture of the donuts themselves were lighter than I expected from something that had just been fried, and the flavor of the dough reminded me of a funnel cake (but much better tasting). On the basis of taste, quality, and freshness, I definitely think the donuts themselves are amazing and therefore deserve a 5.

**Some housekeeeping: I updated my “About Me” in order to change my review system to have numbers that correlate with my rating system. It’s numbered 1-5 and might be easier to follow.**

The flavors I chose were:

  • Rolo: caramel glaze and chocolate chips
  • Orange Creamsicle: orange glaze and powdered sugar
  • O.C. Sand: honey glaze and cinnamon sugar
  • Custom flavor: strawberry glaze and graham cracker crumbs

Clockwise from the left: Orange Creamsicle, 2 Rolo Donuts, Strawberry w/ Graham Cracker Crumbs, 2 O.C. Sand Donuts

I decided to purchase a half dozen, which was $5.90, with tax included. Individual donuts are a dollar a piece. I don’t think I got a receipt, which is fine with me because we don’t need to bring ink and paper into this.

Someone on Foursquare recommended the Rolo flavor, which was one of my favorite candies as a kid, so I had to try it. Unfortunately, I couldn’t really taste the caramel glaze, but it was very chocolatey. I give it a 3, or Good, Sorta.

Next, I tried the Orange Creamsicle, another flavor reminiscent of my childhood. The orange flavor in the glaze is not as pronounced as I would have liked, but the orange is there and it’s tasty nonetheless. I’d say this one is also a 3 on the cusp of a 4.

The flavor that surprised me the most was O.C. Sand. I don’t usually like cinnamon sugar donuts and maybe it was the combination of the honey glaze and the sugar, but man, it was delicious. It was amazing, so I give it a 5. Sometimes the simplest flavor is the best flavor.

O.C. Sand

Lastly, I opted for a custom flavor. I’m all about strawberry-flavored desserts lately, so I went with the strawberry glaze and graham cracker crumbs for texture. The strawberry glaze was great- very sweet but not overly so and the graham cracker crumbs were a nice touch. This was another really good flavor combination, so I’m going to give it a 5.

Ravens-themed donuts were on display, in addition to an Orioles-themed one. There was also a s’mores-flavored donut on display that looked amazing. All of those flavors had a marshmallow glaze as the base. As I’ve already mentioned my love of marshmallow flavored frostings, I would love to come back try the Ravens flavors and the s’mores flavor. I will certainly be back to FP. It’s hard to compare it to Fenwick Bakery since Fenwick’s aren’t hot out of the fryer, but I will say FP comes quite close to making the best donuts I’ve ever had.

6 thoughts on “A trip to the local donuttery

  1. I’ve lived “down the street” (more or less) from this place for over a year now and keep meaning to go. Now I MUST make that happen! We (the Cupcake Crusaders) have it on our schedule this month to do a Hamilton area bakery write up (Fenwick, Hamilton Bakery, and Woodlea Bakery), so stay tuned for that if you are interested. It sounds like we are “neighbors.” Such a small world!

    • A write up on Hamilton area bakeries is a great idea- I can’t wait to read that! Hamilton Bakery is also on my to-do list. I’ve never actually eaten cake from Fenwick (just donuts & danishes) so I’d love to hear what you guys think of theirs. Yup, good ol’ Smaltimore ^_^

      • Hamilton Bakery has a great atmosphere, wonderful customer service and amazing scones. The cupcakes are just okay in my opinion. The only thing I’ve had from Fenwick is something called a fedora (so good!) and their black bottoms. I want to go back to Fenwick and Woodlea to do a little more research before my review. 🙂

  2. Like you, I’ve been wanting to try FP for a long time now (although there aren’t any near to me). I just found out how close this location is to my sister, so now I’m planning to stop the next time I’m there. Can’t wait! Your review couldn’t have come at a better time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

