First!

Welcome to my brand new food blog! Check out my “About Me” for more, well, about me and my rating system for reviews.

Let’s get into it.

I received this Williams-Sonoma Carrot Spice Quick Bread Mix as a gift. I’d never had it or any Williams-Sonoma mix before, but I only associate the store with first-rate products so I had high expectations.

I can never just follow the directions on a mix. For the muffins, I used 1 cup of 2% Lactaid milk instead of water and 6 tablespoons of melted butter + 2 tablespoons canola oil instead of just butter.

The results: muffins that rose beautifully and were full of those autumn-y, spicy flavors, but not quite carrot-y enough. Part of the appeal for me of a carrot cake (or muffin) are the actual flakes of carrot. Those seemed to be lacking in the mix. Also, I may have overcooked them a tad, so they weren’t as moist as I would have liked.  Next time I think I’ll add applesauce, which never fails to fluff up a quick bread.

A serving suggestion on the package was to put a cream cheese frosting on the muffins or bread. I opted for a cream cheese glaze instead and I couldn’t have been more pleased with how it turned out. I used a recipe from The Way the Cookie Crumbles, adapted a bit for my tastebuds. It was the perfect glaze consistency- not too thick, but not too runny.

Overall I give the mix a rating of Good, Sorta. I’m realizing that I’m a bit nitpicky about my breakfast breads. I think it would be a great mix to have in the pantry for a quick breakfast (it’s not a bad mix by any means), but I think scratch might be the way to go on the carrot muffin.

Cream Cheese Glaze (from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

  • 2 ounces cream cheese, softened (I used reduced fat)
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) confectioners sugar, sifted
  • ¾ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk

Whisk all ingredients in a small bowl until completely smooth. Gently spoon and spread over slightly cooled muffins. I waited about 10 minutes after taking the muffins out of the oven before spreading the glaze on the them.

One thought on “First!

Leave a Reply

