Pumpkin something or another

I got kind of behind in posts. I know it’s spring, but here’s a recipe I made in the fall.

I really rely on butter and eggs when I bake, but I was intrigued by the idea of this eggless and butterless pumpkin cake business. In it, the only ingredients are a cake mix and a canned pumpkin and voila, a health(-ier) pumpkin cake. I was chatting with a coworker about it, then shortly after that I saw on Cupcake Crusaders the recipe for healthy cupcakes that involves adding cider into that equation. The idea of just pumpkin and cake mix sounded okay, but adding cider sounded even better to me. So I thought I might be able to do something similar with a quick bread. I already had Williams-Sonoma Banana Caramel Quick Bread on hand. I used Wells Banana Bread Beer instead of cider, and added a bit of rum to the mix, too.

Pumpkin_banana_bread_1

The quick bread was pretty tasty and the pumpkin ended up being the most dominant of all the flavors, with just hints of banana and caramel. While I enjoy things of the “pumpkin spice” variety, it was somewhat refreshing to taste pumpkin with flavors other than cloves, cinnamon, etc. Also, It was very, very moist; this isn’t bad, just not what I was expecting. Some members of my family makes sweet potato “bread” around the holidays that tastes like and resembles more of a crustless pie than say, a traditional banana bread or pumpkin bread, so it reminded me of that. If I want to make a more flakey bread, I’ll probably have to cut back on the amount of pumpkin next time.

Pumpkin_banana_bread_2

A few things:

1) I didn’t try the quick bread mix prior to making it with pumpkin, so I did not know what to expect. I would have used another banana and a bit less pumpkin if I had known that the pumpkin flavor would be dominant rather than complementary.

2) I thought it was a little too dense for a loaf pan. In the future I’ll use a more shallow dish, which is what my family does with the sweet potato bread. It rose beautifully but fell somewhat when I took it out of the oven, which I think had to do with the density of it.

The package in which the quick bread mix came had a recipe for a delicious rum glaze, which I used to top this quick bread. However, I discarded the bag before I wrote down the recipe. Luckily I found another rum glaze recipe on the William-Sonoma website. I hope it is just as good as the original one, which was a great complement to the bread. I also topped the whole loaf with toasted walnuts because I’m all about toasted nuts at the moment.

Pumpkin_banana_bread_4

While I did have some issues with the lack of banana flavor and the density, it was not bad for a first attempt at making an eggless, butterless quick bread. I’m looking forward to trying to experimenting with this recipe until it’s just right, using other mixes and maybe even using butternut squash.

Pumpkin_banana_bread_3

Pumpkin Banana Bread loosely adapted from Cupcake Crusaders

  • Williams-Sonoma Banana Caramel Bread Mix (or any 1 pound, 4 ounce package of banana bread mix)
  • 14 ounces canned pumpkin (I used half of a large can)
  • 1 overripe banana, mashed
  • about  a 1/2 bottle banana bread beer
  • 2 tablespoons dark rum

Rum Glaze adapted from Williams-Sonoma

  • 3/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dark rum
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • about 1 cup chopped walnuts, toasted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 5X9 loaf pan. In a large bowl, whisk together mashed banana and pumpkin. Dump entirety of banana bread mix into the large bowl, and mix altogether with a wooden spoon until just combined. Add beer and rum and stir, without overmixing. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.

Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out fairly clean. Allow bread to cool on a wire rack, for at least an hour, then transfer loaf to wire rack to continue cooling.

In a small bowl, whisk together confectioners sugar, rum, and milk. Drizzle over cooled pumpkin banana bread. Top with toasted walnuts. I stored it in the refrigerator and enjoyed the leftovers warm.

Pumpkin_banana_bread_5

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin something or another

Leave a Reply

