Remember Alf? He’s back, in pog form.

The foodie world is full of fads. A couple years ago, whoopie pies were all over the food blogs, but these days I don’t see nearly as many posts about them.

Though I never got to make them when they were the all the rage (or not, depending who you ask), I made fairly traditionally flavored whoopie pies in the spring of this year by way of the Joy of Baking recipe (and a filling from Baking Bites). They were good, but I didn’t think they were quite the size and shape I had in mind. See below:

I knew that I wanted to make flatter, wider whoopie pies, but how? So I scoured the internet in search of the best whoopie pie recipe (that used a cake mix since that’s what I had on hand) until I came across the one on Pancakes and Postcards. Courtney’s whoopie pies were the shape and size I had in mind. Armed with my box of Funfetti cake mix, I was ready.

I’m all for making things from scratch, but Funfetti is a classic that never disappoints. It tastes like joy and childhood.

I could have eaten the filling itself all day- it was that good. The marshmallow creme really makes it. Probably didn’t hurt that I accidentally used about a tablespoon of vanilla extract because I don’t have a steady hand while pouring it. I also added a bit of cream cheese to ‘zhoozh’ it up a bit. I brought these to my brother’s housewarming and well, they were a hit. My only complaint? Not nearly enough filling in the pies.

Funfetti Whoopie Pies (based on a recipe from Pancakes and Postcards)

  • 1 box Funfetti cake mix
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper. In a medium bowl (or large, if you’re a reckless mixer such as myself), combine cake mix, eggs, water, and vegetable oil. Mix, preferably with a wooden spoon, until batter is as smooth and even as you can get it- there will be some small lumps.

Using a tablespoon or 1-inch cookie scoop, place evenly spaced dollops of batter on prepared cookie sheets.  Make sure you leave at least 2 inches between the batter because they really spread while baking. Bake for 10 minutes or until pie halves are just golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean after insertion.

Remove the pie halves from cookie sheets and let cool completely on wire racks.

Whoopie Pie Filling (based on a recipe from Please Pass the Pie)

  • 1 cup marshmallow creme (I used Jet Puffed since Fluff is harder to find near me)
  • ¾ cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 oz. of cream cheese, softened (I used reduced fat)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • Confectioners Sugar
  • Food Coloring (optional- I got the idea to color the filling from 3 a Week)

Using a hand or stand mixer, blend marshmallow creme, butter, and cream cheese until smooth. Add vanilla extract to the filling mix. Next, add confectioners sugar to taste; I started with about ½ cup confectioners sugar and then added more until it was the fluffy consistency that I desired. I probably added 1 ½ cups to the mix.

If you’d like, divide the filling in two. Add 3-4 drops of one color food coloring to one batch, and drops of another color to the other batch. Mix the fillings. I used red to make pink in one and green and yellow in the other and sweet pastels were the outcome.

Match and pair pie halves that are close in size. Spread a hefty tablespoon of filling on the underside of the pie half and press its counterpart on top. For me, this yielded around 29 whoopie pies.

If you’re a fan of food coloring, I think you could really go to town with ideas for the filling- school colors, team colors, holiday colors, etc.  A great flavor variation would be to use flavored marshmallow creme, such as strawberry Fluff. Or if you prefer more natural flavors, lemon zest or strawberry slices wouldn’t hurt. Sprinkles, as seen in the 3 a Week version, would also make for an even more festive whoopie pie. The possibilities are endless.

2 thoughts on “Remember Alf? He’s back, in pog form.

Leave a Reply

